How to create a field that returns a specified value based on a related field in Sugar CRM?

Here is my situation:

I currently have the following setup in my record view on one of my modules (lets call it Estate_Orders for the sake of this post)

My Goal is to be able to make the "Joint Venture" field related to the "Office Number" field. Every record has a different office number and a corresponding Joint Venture name. These two fields are directly correlated. 

For example: Office Number: 841 is equal to Joint Venture: Real Estate Corp, LLC

My Issue is that I am unsure of how to create this formula in the Sugar Studio. Clearly I am very new at this and would appreciate any and all guidance on how to best implement this!!

Have a wonderful 2020

-Ryan

• Hi Ryan Siwinski,

Please review this article and let us know if it helps.

https://support.sugarcrm.com/Knowledge_Base/Studio_and_Module_Builder/Sugar_Logic/Sugar_Logic_Walkthrough_Related_Module… 

EDIT: Chris Raffle's answer below addresses the specific nature of the "based on another field value," which I recognize as a fundamental detail in the question. His is, in my opinion, the right answer. Using the dropdown in that way, you can essentially create a switch.

• Hi Ryan,

This use case can be achieved in a few ways. One potential way to achieve this is through a custom dropdown list and Sugar Logic. 

I achieved your example by doing the following:

1. Go to Admin > Dropdown Editor > Add Dropdown
    2. Create a dropdown list called joint_venture_office_list where the item name is the office number and the display label is the joint venture:
    3. For my example, I created Office Number as an integer field (office_number_c), and Joint Venture as a text field (joint_venture_c). In the Joint Venture field in Studio, I selected the 'Calculated Value' option and used the following formula: 
      getDropdownValue("joint_venture_office_list",toString($office_number_c))